RIPR Awards Hallway

Rhode Island Public Radio provides award-winning journalism every year!  

Below is a list of all the awards our staff has won, along with (where possible) links to the story that won the award.


Edward R Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession. Learn more about Edward R. Murrow from a CBS profile about his most famous speech: "Wires and Lights in a Box."

RIPR competes in Region 10, Large Market Radio category, which includes stations in the bigger cities across Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine and Massachusetts.



Each year, Public Radio News Directors, Inc recognizes the best of local public radio news in a wide array of categories.  The award winners are recognized at the PRNDI awards banquet during the annual conference, typically held in early summer. Awards are for the previous calendar year.  Competition is fierce; the 2014 awards featured over 1,100 entries from public radio newsrooms across the country, divided into small-, medium- and large-market stations.   RIPR competes in the medium-market category, against all other similar-sized stations in the USA.


Associated Press

  • 2016 - note: AP did not hold awards this year
  • 2015 - note: AP did not hold awards this year
  • 2014 Hard News Feature (Starting Junior High as a Transgender Student)
  • 2013 Hard News Feature (The Financial Challenges to Staying in School)
  • 2013 Feature Reporting (Ornament Manufacturer Call RI Home)
  • 2011 Sports Feature (RI Takes Unique Approach Toward Athlete Concussions)
  • 2011 Use of Sound (Girls Rock!)
  • 2010 Public Affairs (Political Roundtable)
  • 2010 Use of Sound (Foster Parrots)
  • 2010 Continuing Coverage (Health Care Reform)
  • 2010 Hard News Feature (Newport's Homeless Students)
  • 2010 Feature Reporting (A Different Kind of Ballet Class)
  • 2009 Use of Sound (Clagett Regatta)
  • 2008 Use of Sound (Police Mounted Patrol)
  • 2008 General News Reporting (Kids on the Fringe)
  • 2008 Continuing Coverage (RI Foster Care)
  • 2005 Public Affairs (Brain Drain)
  • 2004 News Station of the Year
  • 2004 Enterprise Reporting (Fire Funds)
  • 2004 Public Affairs (Focus: Rhode Island)
  • 2003 News Station of the Year
  • 2003 Use of Sound (Dylan at Newport)
  • 2003 Public Affairs (Focus: Rhode Island)
  • 2003 Feature Reporting (Cathy's Story)
  • 2003 Continuing Coverage (Mayor Cianci's Downfall)
  • 2002 Feature Reporting (Agritainment)
  • 2002 Enterprise Reporting (Probation Crisis)
  • 2002 Public Service (Insuring our Health)
  • 2001 News Station of the Year
  • 2001 Enterprise Reporting (Prison Mental Health)
  • 2000 Enterprise Reporting (URI Racial Climate)
  • 2000 Continuing Coverage (HMO Collapse)
  • 2000 Use of Sound (Outdoor Shakespeare)
  • 2000 Feature Reporting (Poetry Slam)
  • 1999 Investigative Reporting (Victims Compensation Fund)
  • 1999 Enterprise Reporting (Seniors with HIV)



"Different Voices, One Conversation". Rhode Island for Community & Justice (RICJ) presents the annual Metcalf Awards for Diversity in the Media to commemorate the work of outstanding journalists and media producers in the Rhode Island area.